You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 7, 2010.

Sweet!!ย  Just got back from my first run of Week 2! I feel great but had a small foot issue about 3/4 of the way through this run. Today i pushed… like i’ll be doing each week till i can get up to 10 or so miles…

I have my first blister!! Damn!! i was hoping i’d not go through this so early… but hey… it happens… ๐Ÿ™‚ Left foot is great…. no pain or hot spots… just black from the road. My right foot on the other had… well… that’s where the issue is… on my 3rd and 4th toe i have blood blisters… one on each toe… the 4th toe (from the Big Toe that is) has the biggest…

After ICING this morning, i took a needle and sterilized it and drained the blisters… just made a small “Poke” where the blister meets the good skin to release the fluids. Now as i sit here they are both burning a bit when my foot is on the ground… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am also having the small burning in the center of my foot… well the forefoot where i land… i think i my be the very beginning of a blister but not sure… Sooooo… here’s my dilemma… maybe someone out there can help with this… Do i continue to run tomorrow or do i take a break from running for theย  next day or so to let the feet help some??? I really would appreciate anyone input on this… i’m also going hit some other blogs and ask that question to see if i can get an answer!

I’m not sure if it was the added distance or the pace that caused my foot issues but hopefully i’ll figure it out… it may just be my form too!!! I think i was pushing a bit because i felt really really good today… i also ran more on the Asphalt and less on the concrete… so maybe i was just “PUSHING-OFF” …??? I know that’s a NO-NO but it happened… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so… today i ran for about 11:30 and distance was 1.2 Miles… the time is an estimate as i had my stopwatch running and when i made it back home i picked up my right foot and at the same time accidentally hit the RESET on the stop watch… grrrrrrr… ;( shooooot… oh well, hehehe… I’ll get another time tomorrow or the next day…

OH…. i’m very excited… just found a BareFoot Runners Society Chapter here in Las Vegas!!! Woot… it look like it’s a very small group right now… but at least i’ll have some people to bounce things off of… very nice!!!ย  Hey… in-case there are others out there looking for people to hook-up with… here is the link to the Barefoot Runners Society website… Barefoot Runners Society I sure hope this helps other to connect!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Looking for some more great information to help you get started with YOUR BAREFOOT RUNNING Adventure?? Check this out.. Barefoot Running 101

Image was borrowed from Jason Robillard’s blog “Barefoot Running 101”
Barefoot Running 101

Barefoot Running 101

Hey all… well, just finishing up the 1st Week of my barefooting adventure! And, what aย  great ride it’s been… nope… not much mileage but getting use to the cold hard ground beneath my feet. I sorta got behind on my post and for that i’mย  sorry…ย  so here’s the low down on the last couple of day… I have to share this… this guy… what can i say… he’s pretty dang intense and well…. i don’t know.. you have to watch it… let me know what you think!!

Day 7: Finally finishing up my first week of pain free barefoot running! What a great week…. i made it all week… with just a bit of soreness… some mild foot pain but nothing bad and i clocked in about 3.5 miles for the week.. Woot… ok ok… so it’s not much mileage but it was fun and i had NO PAIN!!! from the runs! OH… wow, just looking backย  i realize i never explained that after each run i would soak my feet in an ICE BATH!!! Yep… very very cold… i would do 3 …. 1-minute baths… that seemed to help keep swelling down or from happening! NOT being a doctor i can’t tell anyone what works or not … but for me… i believe the ice baths were great at helping my feet recover each day!! With my bull-riding past all i can tell you is that ice is your friend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL… with all the bouncing and banging around you get the ice definitely helped with swelling and allowing me to continue on…. just something that might help you out… Ok… Week 1 done… can’t wait to start my 2nd week!!! Wooot…. good luck to you all and keep on barefoot running!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Day 6: Still hitting the road in the morning around 7ish… i really like this time right now… not too cold outside but just a little bite to it… the ground (concrete and asphalt) is nice and cold and feels good on the toes!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Not much happened today… i increase my speed just a bit … i believe it was around 4:23 for the 1/2 mile… no speed records here! hehehe… but i’m sure having a blast learning… not only from my runs but from information on the net… i never realized the amount of information out there or how many people are converting to barefoot running… it seem like everyone is looking for pain free running! I sure hope i can help spread the word about this great sport!!! Well… that’s about it for today’s run… not real exciting but it’s over and on to the next day!

Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

BareFoot Running – Training

Barefoot Runners Society

barefoot running ninja logo

Can You SEE ME?